Movie Review: Cinderella 2015

Cinderella_2015_1

I watched the new Cinderella film last weekend and can I just say that I have a totally new girl crush on Lily James? I’ve never seen Downton Abby, so I had not seen her in anything else. She was absolutely charming in the movie.

I just want to say first and foremost that movies or any other forms of entertainment are just that to me, entertainment. I do not look to them to teach me any lessons and when I have kids, I would not want them to learn their life lessons from media that is meant to entertain.  When I judge a movie, I judge it solely on whether or not it did it’s job: entertain me. Ok. I think I’ve got my point across.

My expectations for the film were simple: would it flow well and would I enjoy the actors in their roles? Yes and yes. I knew Cate Blanchett and Helena Bonham Carter would be exceptional because they are Cate Blanchett and Helena Bonham Carter, two of my favorite actresses. However, I did not know any of the others and I felt they all did a really great job. I loved the costumes and scenery and all the other magical and mystical fairy dust scattered throughout the movie.

We all know the fairytale, right? Ideal family who goes through hard times when girl loses her mother and father and has to live with her evil step-mother and step-sisters. She is relegated to being their housemaid and treated unfairly until her fairy godmother comes to her rescue. She goes to a ball, the prince is smitten with her and she has to leave in a rush before the magic goes away. In the interim, she loses a shoe, the prince searches the entire town to find the girl who fits the shoe. He finds her and they live happily ever after.

This movie is a bit different in that the prince first met Cinderella while she was in her housemaid element, dirty dress and unkempt hair. They have a few words and he is smitten with her. They meet again at the ball and he falls even deeper for her as she does for him.

His desperate attempt to find her is both comical and absurd. Let’s face it, even in their small village, surely there was more than one woman who would have fit the shoe. Yet, there was only one woman who looked like her and instead of searching for the woman, they were searching for the woman who fit the shoe. But, then again, this is Disney and this is a fairytale so it’s not meant to resemble real life.

In the end, Cinderella and the prince meet again and before Cinderella tries on the shoe (which, at this point was kind of moot), she tells the prince she is who she is. Of course, we all know what happens next.

What do you think of fairy tales?

*** Another note, while I consider movies a form of entertainment, I do enjoy watching movies that are “think pieces” like Birdman and have a fun time dissecting them.***

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Cinderella 2015

Leave a Reply

