My Celebrity Neighbor – Kieran Culkin

Peter-Johnson-photoshoot-kieran-culkin-33200483-1312-2000-2

I love my neighborhood because it is the central hub of the city due to its proximity to museums, restaurants, theaters, shops and everything in between. So it’s no wonder that my building has a revolving door of short-term celebrities that float in and out for various gigs (movies / TV shows / theater productions / concerts). I have always been a fan of pop culture and am pretty well-versed in the world of celebritydom. I lived in LA for a year (where I was fortunate enough to attend movie premiers and parties) and encountered plenty of celebrities. I can’t really say I get “star-struck,” but it is always a pleasure to encounter someone when I’ve seen them on the big screen before. Fortunately, I’ve never had a bad experience. I thought it might be a fun idea to write about some of my neighbors every now and then. Of course, these are people who are no longer residents.

ThisIsOurYouth-2

{The cast of This is Our Youth: Kieran Culkin, Tavi Gevinson and Michael Cera}

First up is Kieran Culkin (you know, the guy whose brother, McCauley, was the star of one of the greatest movies ever, Home Alone). I first encountered Kieran while I stepped out with my husband. Kieran was waiting in the cab line outside of our building. I recognized him instantly even though the last thing I recalled seeing him in was Igby Goes Down (a movie I am very fond of). It’s so funny how (most) people look exactly the same as you see them onscreen and how, even if you haven’t seen them in over a decade, they still look the same.

MV5BMjE0NjMzMTgyMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTU1NDIzMQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

I immediately did a search to see what he was in town for. Turns out, Kieran was in town for This is Our Youth (a play tested here that eventually went on to Broadway). I would see him occasionally on the elevator and once ran into him at our building’s cafe. I said “Hello” and we exchanged small talk about the weather, coffee and such. I never let on that I knew who he was. After all, it’s not unusual to talk to your neighbors:) Here are a few films that Kieran has done.

  • Home Alone and Home Alone 2: Lost in New York
  • Father of the Bride and Father of the Bride II
  • The Mighty
  • She’s All That
  • Music of the Heart
  • The Cider House Rules
  • The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys
  • Scott Pilgrim vs the World
  • Iggy Goes Down
  • Fargo
  • Quitters

{All photos via IMDB}

2 thoughts on “My Celebrity Neighbor – Kieran Culkin

  1. Tears swelled at the brims of my eyes upon reading “I never let on that I knew who he was. After all, it’s not unusual to talk to your neighbors:)” If only we could always treat each other with such parity.

Leave a Reply

