Turning The Billy Bookcase Into The Billy Shoecase

shoecase

I’ve always had a fascination with shoes. You know you have an obsession/problem when your friend buys you a book dedicated to such thing.  And, you know you have an obsession/problem when you have to think of storage solutions for such thing. Enter the solution: Ikea Billy bookcases (or any bookcases could work, really).

Living in the city has many advantages, but a few disadvantages as well; the biggest being small living spaces. Of course, I could purge and just keep only a few. Or, I could find clever solutions. I’ve done the former and somehow still have to find clever solutions. After taking stock of my current living situation and thinking about it, I decided that bookcases would be the way to go for two reasons: 1. They are practical and will hold an abundance of shoes. 2. They can be utilized as display cases for the best of the collection.

And, what do you know? There are many people using the Billy bookcase for shoe storage as evidenced in these pictures. Are you shoe-obsessed, too? How do you store your shoes?

shoes1

shoe2

shoe3

shoes5

shoe6

1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6

6 thoughts on “Turning The Billy Bookcase Into The Billy Shoecase

    1. Yeah. I thought so, too:) I cannot wait to try it out. I have a shelf already, but I need to add extra shelving to maximize my usage and of course, the last 2 times I was at Ikea they were out of them:(

      1. Aww, that just sucks when you’re already so excited to create. But I hope they get it for you soon enough 🙂

  1. This is the perfect solution I have been looking for. I have tons of shoes so many I can’t close my closet now! I’ll def have to find a shelf like this for my closet, good idea ♥

    1. Thanks, Alexis! Yeah—if you check Craigslist, I bet you could probably find a ton of people re-selling this as it’s a popular item. I’ll be sure to post some pics when I have mine put together.

Leave a Reply

