Fitness: My 30 Day Bikram Yoga Challenge – Week 4 Update

download (2)

Today marks the 28th day of my 30 day Bikram Yoga challenge. It seems just like yesterday that I started, yet I can see just how far I’ve come in 4 weeks. My body is still adjusting and I still have some poses I cannot do, but it has done the one thing I’d hoped to get out of it — it has motivated me to continue working out. I will write more about my yoga journey once I’ve completed my 30 days, but today I wanted to touch on motivation and habit in relation to my goal.

Studies have shown that it takes anywhere from 20 – 254 days to form a habit, with the average being 66 days depending on the goal (i.e. the easier the goal, the shorter time it took to make it a habit). With my yoga challenge (that sounds like an oxymoron, huh?) coming to a close in 2 days, it’s hard to say if I’ve formed a habit. I can say that I’m motivated to keep going. My ultimate goal is to exercise at least one hour daily.

As I’ve mentioned before, Bikram is a huge daily time commitment (about 2.5 – 3 hours a day). I know that I cannot keep that up because I have too much else going on. Let’s face it, how many of us can devote 3 hours a day to exercise?  I do want to keep a daily yoga practice though, so I’m considering my options. I am thinking of continuing my yoga challenge, but going to a different studio, where they have classes that are 45 minutes or an hour long. This way, in the future, I can try to do a mix of Bikram and other forms of yoga throughout the week. Until then, I want to just be as present as possible and work as hard as possible on my last two classes. Namaste.

P.S. Bikram Challenge week 1 update

P.P.S. Bikram Challenge week 2 update

P.P.P.S. Bikram challenge week 3 update

Leave a Reply

