Fitness: My 30 Day Bikram Yoga Challenge – Week 2

56e9c4bdea278b687d3f195ff382d5e6

Today marks  14 days since I began my journey to complete 30 days of Bikram Yoga. I have to admit, it has not always been easy because Bikram is a real time commitment.

The class is 90 minutes long and I need to factor in time to walk to class (thank goodness it’s only a 5 minute walk), be sure I arrive at least 20 minutes before class starts so I have time to put my things away and secure a place that I am comfortable with (safe to say it’s not in front of the class right now), and allow 15 minutes after class to relax, pack up my things and walk home.  Then I have to shower when I am home and do laundry (my sweaty clothes and I bring my own towel). All in all, it is about a 2.5 hour daily commitment. Is it worth it?

Yes. I feel better and I sleep better. I have some aches and pains in certain areas, which I’m sure my body will adjust to in time. And, there are still poses I struggle with (one leg down with knee straight and other leg up extended with knee straight and forehead to the knee) and times where I struggle to “quiet” my mind or focus in the moment, but I am trying and I am committed. And, I am glad I am doing this. Namaste.

3 thoughts on “Fitness: My 30 Day Bikram Yoga Challenge – Week 2

  1. I’m very new to yoga – new, like I’m only doing 10 mins beginner videos every other day at home – and I can’t even imagine a full 90 min session o_O I guess I just wanted to say good luck and huge props to you.

Leave a Reply

