Tuesday Treasures: Guilty Pleasures

4d56965a79c1eb5992a63875389016b6

Why is everything that tastes so good so bad for us? I was watching Eva Longoria on Jimmy Kimmel the other night and she was talking about her Super Bowl party. She said that everyone was still on their New Year’s health kick, so there were no carbs to eat. Just lots of meats and veggies. I thought to myself (based on my living experience there), “That’s how all LA home parties are, though.”  I have to admit, carbs are a major guilty pleasure for me. I can go to a Mexican restaurant and be happy with just chips and salsa, or satiate my hunger with bread dipped in olive oil and fresh parm at an Italian restaurant.

When I think about it, (bad for me) food is not my only guilty pleasure. Here are a few others.

1. The Bachelor/ Bachelorette – I have to admit, I’ve only started watching the Bachelor/Bachelorette for the past three seasons (the most recent being “Prince Farming”). I find it amusing when people take reality shows seriously. It’s like, they forget the word “show” is part of the deal and hence, that’s what these characters/actors/performers are creating — a show. Anyway, I find great amusement in the show and thought this article from the New York Times about reality TV was spot on.

23BFE34C00000578-0-image-m-104_1417732541453

{via here}

2. Boy Bands – Truth is, I love music and I love to listen to a variety; from classical to pop to indie and so forth, but I have a soft spot for boy bands. From New Addition to New Kids on the Block (or is it just NKOTB now?) to the Backstreet Boys to One Direction. Here is another great article from the New York Times — about boy bands this time. While I may not be harboring any school girl crushes on them any longer, I am not ashamed to admit I still listen to them.

final-bracket-large

{via here}

3. Young Adult Books – Much like music, I love to read and have an affinity for a variety of books. While I am beyond what is categorized as Young Adult (12 – 18 years), I still enjoy reading YA books. They may not fall in my “Top Ten Books” list, but they still provide me with much enjoyment today as they did when I first got into them (at about 9 years old). Some of my all-time favorite YA books are Go Ask Alice, The Catcher in the Rye and anything by S.E. Hinton. Some of my recent favorites are the Divergent series, The Hunger Games series and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Here’s a great article about why YA books matter. Please let me know if there are any new YA books you think are absolute must-reads.

book-drive-2-520x369

Leave a Reply

