Five Soup Recipes To Try

As I venture into a new and healthy phase in life (WoW! That sounded a little bit dramatic!), I know it’s important that I do meal-planning to keep me on-course. It’s just as well because I love to plan things. Whether it’s a party or a wedding or travel, planning gives me great joy.

I have to admit, meal-planning is new to me. I’ve usually just been a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of gal when it came to food decisions. So, as part of the planning process, I’ve been researching different recipes to try.

Like soups. I love soups. While Pho has been a contender for many years, my time in LA really made  a ramen lover out of me (Oh, how I miss Daikokuya!). Here are some soup recipes that I’m looking forward to trying out:

1. Joan Chang’s Hot and Sour Soup

I love a good hot and sour soup and this recipe looks really delicious. I love that she substituted egg for cornstarch and I’m curious to taste it.

hot and sour soup

 

2. Gimme Some Oven’s Egg Drop Soup 

Egg drop soup is really easy, quick and delicious. While I always have my mom’s recipe as a go-to, I thought it might be fun to try some other recipes. This one looks just as simple and delicious as it seems.

Egg-Drop-Soup-Revised-12

3. Polish Wild Mushroom Soup

Mushroom soup is one of my go-to orders when I go to a Polish restaurant. I have been looking at some recipes to try and this looks like a good one.

Mushroom-Soup-1-4

 

4. Elly Says Opa’s 44-Clove Garlic Soup

Seriously, if I could put garlic on everything, I would. Like, on everything. So, naturally, this recipe stood out to me and I can’t wait to try it out.

garlic soup

 

5. Rich and Creamy Tonkotsu Ramen Broth

This recipe looks pretty labor-intensive (definitely not your 15 minute egg-drop soup recipe, but then again, it’s not egg-drop soup), but like I said, I really love my ramen. I’d never thought to have made my own until I came across this recipe on Serious Eats.

20120227-tonkotsu-ramen-broth-pork-fat-26-thumb-625xauto-222069

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

